About Us

For more than four decades, the Center has been focused on the #WorkThatMatters. In the beginning, that meant bringing award-winning financial and economic education to teachers and students across Greater Cincinnati. Our reach has since expanded to classrooms in 46 states. The Center also now delivers world-class research to drive better decision-making by clients in the public and private sectors.

The Center began as a teacher training initiative of the Cincinnati Chamber of Commerce in 1976. In 1977, the Center was incorporated and established a permanent existence as part of the University of Cincinnati.

While the Center has maintained its teacher training as a core service, we’ve added student programs and competitions, an award-winning online financial program called $martPath, partnerships for the financial education of the larger community, and a research team to serve businesses and governmental partners in our region.


Every year, the Center’s research team consults with more than 30 business clients on their economic data and analysis needs. Their work includes everything from market analyses to feasibility studies, economic impact projects, and workforce development initiatives. Through this work, the Center and its partners contribute to the health and vitality of our region’s economy.

The Alpaugh Family Economics Center is a part of the Council for Economic Education’s national network.

The Center is also a member of the Association of University Business and Economic Research.


Equipping every child and every community leader with the tools to make effective economic and financial decisions.

The Economics Center creates informed outcomes through the implementation of economic and financial literacy programs for K-12 students and teachers and through the unbiased analyses of our economic research staff.

The Center has won several national awards for its programs and its online financial education platform, $martPath.

Faculty & Staff

Ben Brennan
Research Associate
Brad Evans
Co-Executive Director
Erin Harris
Director, Student Enterprise Program (StEP)
Megan Heare
Assistant Director of Research
Julie Heath, PhD
Executive Director Emerita
Sue Heilmayer
Co-Executive Director
Erna Jennings
Administrative and Program Assistant
Kathy Palmer
Marketing and Communications Director
Emily Schalk
Professional Development Director
Katie Smith
StEP Store Facilitator
Joseph Traynor
Research Associate

board of trustees

Diane Altmix
Ben Willingham
Vice Chair
Matt Barney
Messer Construction
Al Riddick
Game Time Budgeting, LLC
Peter A. Alpaugh
Cincinnati Equitable
Christopher S. Habel
Frost Brown Todd, LLC
Ed Hudson
The Kroger Company
Matt Iacobucci
U.S. Bank
Susan Zaunbrecher
Fifth Third Bank
Andrea Akin
Nathan J. Bachrach
Community Volunteer
Doug Bolton
Cincinnati Cares
Brian Brockhoff
Heartland Bank
J.B. Buse, Jr.
Loth, Inc.
Alfonso Cornejo
Hispanic Chamber Cincinnati USA President and AC & Consulting Associates
Michael G. Dailey
Dinsmore & Shohl
John J. Frank, Jr.
Cushman & Wakefield
James Hendricks
Lakisha Higgins
Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
Nick Hoyng
Danya Karram
Brilliant Advice
Lisa Kuethe
Huntington Bank
Dr. Susan Lang
Sam Luken
Doug Marsh
KZF Design
Sean V. McGrory
Clark Schaefer Hackett
John Michelman
Michelman, Inc.
Wayne “Box” Miller
St. Xavier High School
Laura Mitchell
Beech Acres
Robert Neu, Jr.
Claymore Capital Partners
Bill Neyer
Community Volunteer
David Okun
Al. Neyer
Jim Ortman
J.P. Morgan Private Bank
Dr. Mari Phillips
Educational Consultant
Lori Poole
Bartlett Wealth Management
Barry Porter
Former Mayor of Wyoming, Ohio
Harry Snyder
Great Oaks Career Campuses
Tim Stautberg
Community Volunteer
Cindy Tsai
Fort Washington Investment Advisors
Tonya West Wright
Princeton City Schools
Charles Young
d.e. Foxx & Associates

Emerging Leaders Board

Early and Mid-Career Professionals Supporting the Center Through Volunteering, Outreach, and Development

Joe Alemagno
Western & Southern Life Insurance
Matthew Childress
Fifth Third
Emilia Connor-Brady
Johnson Investment Counsel
Brian Duba
Fifth Third Bank
Megan Ebenschweiger
Leah Hammer
North Side Bank
Marissa Huffman
Avery Dennison
Governance/Member Chair
Cody Kessel
Fifth Third Bank
Hannah Kessel
Fifth Third Bank
J.T. Mackay
J.P. Morgan Bank
Strategic Initiatives Chair
Amber Newman
North Side Bank
Social Chair
Bri Oeder
Kailyn Paolucci
Bartlett Wealth Management
Chris Quigley
Messer Construction
Chris Reisiger
Clark Schaefer Hackett
Nic Ruscello
Northcreek Mezzanine
Will Sayer
STNL Development
Max Williams
Frost Brown Todd
Scroll to Top